2011 Indy 500 Results: Who is the Winner of Indianapolis Race?

Filed in Gather Sports News Channel by on May 29, 2011 0 Comments

The 2011 Indy 500 results are in for those wondering who won the race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday. This year saw a rookie nearly named the winner for the Indianapolis 500 making for a great historic moment. However, his dreams were crushed on turn four.

The Indy 500 race televised on ABC today,saw JR Hildebrand, a 23-year-old rookie looking like he was about to win it and then hit the wall on the final stretch of the race. Meanwhile, #98 Indy car driver Dan Wheldon managed to drive right past him from second place to cross the finish line first.

Earlier in today’s centennial anniversary of the Indianaoplis 500 race, winner of the pole, Alex Tagliani, also hit the wall. He still showed great sportsmanship, heading over to congratulate Wheldon at victory lane, right after Dan got a kiss from his wife. Last year’s winner, Dario Franchitti finished in fourth place. GoDaddy girl Danica Patrick finished in 9th place today. However, it was Wheldon who downed the milk and wore the victory wreath following the Indy race.

Major congratulations go out to Wheldon, who previously won the Indy 500 race in 2005. This is also quite an emotional win for Wheldon, whose mom was recently diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. She was unable to travel to Indianapolis today to see his victory, but certainly must be pleased with her son’s major accomplishment.

About the Author ()

My belief is that we all have success in us, but allow self-doubt, negative thoughts and others to stop us from achieving great things. I have a vision to be rich, not necessarily famous, but to have enough money to provide for a family and then give bac

Leave a Reply