‘American Idol’ 2012 April 18 Song List Leaked

Filed in Gather Entertainment News Channel by on April 18, 2012 0 Comments

When American Idol 2012 resumes this evening, the top 7 redux show will feature the finalists as they tackle songs from both ‘Now’ and ‘Then’. Wondering which tunes are on the play list? Read on, because the reality show’s official Twitter handle tweeted the beans this morning. Here’s a look at the set.

The songs tabbed as ‘Now’ hits include Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance” and “Born this Way”, “No One” and “Fallin'” by Alicia Keys, Idol alum Fantasia’s “I Believe”, “U Got it Bad” by Usher, and Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep”.

It’s not surprising to see multiple Gaga hits in the mix, but a few other choices are eyebrow-raisers. For one, despite the fact that three guys remain in the mix–Joshua Ledet, Colton Dixon and Phillip Phillips–only one song performed by a male artist is represented. Additionally, judges Randy Jackson, Jennifer Lopez and Steven Tyler have previously expressed serious concerns over anyone attempting to deliver any of powerhouse Adele’s songs. Whomever chose “Rolling in the Deep” is brave, but the move may not pay off unless the delivery is flawless. Finally, with country girl Skylar Laine still in the mix, the absence of a popular current hit from the genre is perplexing.

Tunes on the ‘Then’ portion of the set list include “In the Midnight Hour”, “A Change is Gonna Come”, “September”, “Son of a Preacher Man”, “Try a Little Tenderness”, “Heard it Through the Grapevine”, and “Let’s Get it On”. It’s again surprising that a great country tune of the past isn’t on the list, but all in all, it’s a solid group of classic tunes.

The American Idol 2012 Top 7 redux show airs tonight at 8 PM on FOX.

About the Author ()

Leave a Reply