Is Derek Jeter A Cheater?

Filed in Gather Sports News Channel by on September 16, 2010 0 Comments

Is Derek Jeter a cheater? A Wednesday night game between the New York Yankees and the Tampa Bay Rays resulted in a questionable call that some say makes Jeter a cheater. 

It was the top of the seventh inning when Rays’ pitcher, Chad Qualls, appeared to hit Jeter on the left arm. However, a slow motion replay shows that the ball didn’t hit Jeter on the arm, but at the end of his bat. This little fact, however, didn’t stop the Yankee captain from putting on his best acting face. Jeter doubled over while receiving attention from the trainer. His acting ability was enough to convince the umpire that he was hit, and the umpire ruled in favor of the Yankees.  

Later, the Yankees super star admitted to his little fib, ”He told me to go to first base. I’m not going to tell him I’m not going to first, you know. . .” 

”It’s part of the game. My job is to get on base. Fortunately for us it paid off at the time, but I’m sure it would have been a bigger story if we would have won that game.”

Despite Jeter’s dramatics, the Rays went on to win the game 4-3, according to Fox News.

Was it right for one of sports biggest names to cheat? Obviously, it wasn’t technically wrong of Jeter, but was it morally right? Athletes get to where they are because of their drive and determination, but it seems that this was going a little too far. The Yankees are an incredible team, and Jeter is an amazing player. Jeter probably didn’t need to lie to get the base, but he made a decision that could possibly cost him a fan or two.

What do you think?

 

 

Leave a Reply