Kate Middleton’s Interest Propels Shift for Kensington Palace Use

Filed in Gather Celeb News Channel by on November 8, 2011 0 Comments

It was recently announced that Kate Middleton and Prince William, the Duchess and Duke of Cambridge, would be moving into Apartment 1A in Kensington Palace after some extensive updates. Now The Telegraph is sharing details of how big a shift this is given the other plans that had been in place for the notable space. The Royal Palace had designated the space as the setting for a number of public events and “permanent” displays beginning next March, but now it is being repurposed due to the newlyweds’ interest.

The Telegraph notes that when Kate Middleton toured the space a few months before her big wedding, she left with her heart set on the apartment. At first, those in charge of the space apparently made it clear that the apartment was going to be used for other purposes, but it seems perhaps someone intervened on Kate and William’s behalf. The Telegraph author Tim Walker inquired if perhaps Prince William’s grandmother was behind the U-turn for the space, and he says he was met with a knowing laugh but no specific confirmation.

A spokesperson for the Historic Royal Palaces now says, “longer term plans… were not planned to open until 2016 at the earliest and now will be integrated into other areas of the palace.” The spokesperson added, “A small temporary display of dresses worn by the Princess of Wales will proceed as planned in Apartment 1A, from 26 March until September 2012.” The author at The Telegraph indicates that Scotland Yard is apprehensive about Kate and William living so close to the space that will have such a large volume of the public in and out, but it appears everyone involved is finding ways to make it work.

Fans of Kate Middleton and Prince William are excited to see the space once it is updated and the Duke and Duchess move in to make it their own. While move-in date is not happening until sometime in 2013, fans will be keeping close tabs on the space’s renovations.

Kiss Wedding Prince William of Wales Kate Middleton

About the Author ()

Leave a Reply